Moon of Winds

Worm Moon Mar 2017I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t fascinated by the night sky. I do remember we had a storybook about Greek mythology when I was young. Maybe it started then, with the stories woven around the constellations. Or is the other was around?  Cassiopeia, what a delightful name. I remember how delighted I was when I could finally identify the Big Dipper. And then even happier when I learned to identify Orion, Scorpius, Taurus and some of the others.
Folklore about the moon fascinates me as well. space.com says, “The full moon of March is known as the Worm Moon because it happens when temperatures rise and the earthworms start to reappear, according to the Old Farmer’s Almanac. It was also called the Sap Moon, as it’s when the maple trees could be tapped to make syrup again after a long winter of frozen sap. Celtic people called the March full moon the moon of winds.
Featured today is my impression of the glow of the Moon of Winds as it rose over Mount San Jacinto.

Leave a Reply

