You’re Gonna Make it, After All

Tribute to Mary
This picture of a  marquee in my Facebook feed one day immediately caught my attention because that is, after all, the ending line of Love is All Around, the theme song for the Mary Tyler Moore Show. I have spent many, many hours watching Mary, both on the Dick Van Dyke Show and the Mary Tyler Moore Show. Mary Richards was an example to my generation that a woman could make it in a man’s job. And she did it with grace, sensitivity and style.
My spirit was always lifted, listening to those words, love is all around, no need to waste it.
So when I saw the picture of the marquee with those words that seem like encouragement to me, I had to try to pay tribute to Mary Tyler Moore. This was probably one of my earliest attempts to use opacity with layers, and I do wish the kitten showed up more. I seem to remember it was touchy, keeping the words from fading into the other layer. Nevertheless, this was and still is my heartfelt tribute. Mary Tyler Moore (December 29, 1936 – January 25, 2017).

Leave a Reply

