I Don’t Think I’m in Kansas

Kansas
My tribute to the Wizard of Oz movie with Judy Garland. I started with an aerial view photograph, taken from my window seat on a flight from Dallas to Sacramento. This would have been one of my early experiments with using texture and some coloring. And I think I had just been given a mountain bicycle. Even today, when I’m riding, I can hear that witch’s theme in the back of my brain.
I grew up in the generation when The Wizard of Oz was an annual family event. I’m sure I have it memorized. I had a book about how the movie was made. I read every book by Frank L. Baum in the public library. And every now and then, when things seem strange or surreal, I remember Dorothy’s reaction to landing in Munchkin Land and I think, “I don’t think I’m in Kansas anymore.”
One of my favorite moments is the hope reflected in the little song at the field of poppies: You’re out of the woods, you’re out of the dark, you’re out of the night.
Step into the sun, step into the light. March up to the gate and bid it open, open.
I just looked it up to make sure I had it right, and the singers are listed as, Optimistic Voices. So there you go. Hold on to hope. And keep moving forward. Even when you think you’re “not in Kansas anymore.”

Leave a Reply

